Samman Internal Committee at IIMU

IIM Udaipur - Best MBA colleges in india

Samman Internal Committee at IIMU

The objective of Samman – Internal Committee goes beyond what is mandated by the Act and rules:
Samman is not only confined to dealing with complaints of Sexual Harassment towards women but also towards members of other genders and to work for creating awareness, sensitization, counselling, and educating about gender issues.

The Samman Policy will be followed in conjunction with the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 (14 of 2013) and other relevant guidelines.

What is Sexual Harassment?

According to the Supreme Court of India, sexual harassment is any unwelcome sexually determined behavior, such as:

  • Physical contact
  • A demand or request for sexual favors
  • Sexually colored remarks
  • Showing pornography
  • Any other physical, verbal, or non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature.

Sexual Harassment takes place if a person:

  • Subjects another person to an unwelcome act of physical intimacy, like grabbing, brushing, touching, pinching etc.
  • Makes an unwelcome demand or request (whether directly or by implication) for sexual favors from another person, and further makes it a condition for employment/payment of wages/increment/promotion etc.
  • Makes an unwelcome remark with sexual connotations, like sexually explicit compliments/cracking loud jokes with sexual connotations/ making sexist remarks etc.
  • Shows a person any sexually explicit visual material, in the form of pictures/cartoons/pin-ups/calendars/screensavers on computers/any offensive written material/pornographic emails, etc.
  • Engages in any other unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature, which could be verbal, or even nonverbal, like staring to make the other person uncomfortable, making offensive gestures, kissing sounds, etc..

As an institute, we have a strict policy with a clause of disciplinary action against sexual harassment (based on the Vishaka guidelines) and it applies to everyone in the institute.

If you face any of the above-mentioned kind of behavior, reach out to

Samman on or directly to any of the committee members:

S.NoNamePositionMobile No.
1Prof Vedha PonnappanPresiding officer9449611935
2Prof Rajeshwari NaredranExternal Member9687324399
3Prof Tanvi GuptaFaculty Member9686037306
4Prof Jijo MathewFaculty Member9845033873
5Prof Moumita TiwariFaculty member9686515859
6Ms Payal PitliyaStaff member9014115380
7Dr Joel XavierStaff member8290755158
8Ms Aishwarya GaikwadStudent member7083446184
9Mr Kamal SinghStudent member9873805154
10Mr Yashwardhan Singh RanawatMember secretary9828091569

NCW Women’s Helpline: 7827170170

For more information visit